• St John’s Street Synagogue

    This Classical Revival building, the first custom-built shul ever established in sub-Saharan Africa, opened on Rosh Hashanah, 15 September 1863, located on the east side of Van Riebeeck’s former vegetable garden.

  • The South African Jewish Museum

    The South African Jewish Museum is a visual interactive and high tech museum representing the story of the Jews of South Africa, their origins and contributions. Gift shop and Café Riteve.

  • Great Synagogue

    Oldest Jewish congregation in South Africa, established in 1841. The new Baroque style edifice (Architect: John Parker) was opened by congregation President, Hyman Liberman, Mayor of Cape Town, on 17 September 1905. The foundation stone was laid by Governor Sir Walter Hely-Hutchinson. Stained glass windows of Cape flowers and grapes installed 1936 and new stained glass windows in 2013. Pulpit transferred from St John’s Street Synagogue 1 .

  • Jacob Gitlin Library

    Established 1959. Extensive collection of books, magazines, journals, CDs and DVDs of Jewish interest. Jacob Gitlin was a dedicated Zionist worker and secretary to the Dorshei Zion Society for 27 years.

  • Cape Town Holocaust Centre

    The first Holocaust Centre in Africa opened in 1999. The Centre houses a permanent exhibition and conducts educational programmes for schools, educators and diverse adult groups.

  • Cafe Riteve

    Popular kosher ‘milchik’ restaurant and take-aways, with well stocked gift shop.

  • Water Fountain

    The water fountain is designed as a tribute to Patrons and Friends of the UJC Cape Town, who have deep roots in the Mother City but now live elsewhere.

  • Belvedere House

    Adjoining the Lodge De Goede Hoop (first Masonic Lodge in South Africa) are two houses and a store, purchased in 1849 for £800, for use as a synagogue and a minister’s house. The Simon van de Stel Foundation plaque reads: “On this site stood a house which was used as the first synagogue in South Africa consecrated by the Reverend Isaac Pulver, the first minister, until a synagogue was built facing Government Avenue consecrated on 13 September 1863”.

  • Houses of Parliament

    The Houses of Parliament contain the Mendelssohn Collection assembled by Sydney Mendelssohn, a diamond dealer, the first great collector of Africana and a compiler of the classic South African Bibliography published in 1910.  Jewish members of Parliament continue to play a role in South African politics.

  • Cape Argus – Newspaper House

    The Cape Argus, established on 3 January 1857, was owned from 1863 to 1885 by Saul Solomon, a printer.  Described as the “Cape Disraeli,” childhood rheumatic fever had left Solomon 4 feet tall with crippled legs. He was a brilliant scholar who became a prominent member of the Cape Parliament which he addressed standing on a box. It was said of him that he was “the smallest man amongst us in stature, but in mind, he is taller than any of us by a whole head”.

  • Iziko The Old Town House

    Built in 1756 to replace the Watch House, and now a museum that houses the Old Dutch and Flemish art collection donated in 1917 by Sir Max Michaelis, a Jewish gold magnate, as a “practical expression of his affection for the country in which he had spent his earlier days”. There is a memorial to Michaelis in the courtyard.

  • Cape Town High School

    Formerly Hope Mill Hebrew Public School. It began in 1860 as a small one-roomed school for Jewish children. Kindergarten teacher at Hope Mill and then headmistress at Central Girls School (in Buitekant St), Roza van Gelderen (1890 -1969) was regarded as an educator ahead of her times.

  • Coffee Time

    Start with an all-day breakfast, lunch or a leisurely tea break at this well run eatery that has a special ‘soul’. Buffet lunches on Wednesday. “….a hats off to a centre that helps people with special needs achieve dignity and a sense of worth”, writes food reviewer Jos Baker. ‘Milchik’. And shop for something special at adjoining Giftime.

  • Hermanus Synagogue

    With an increase in retired people to this coastal town, the now active community has regular services. A new Synagogue was consecrated on 7 September 2008. Cemetery: near Fernkloof.

  • Or Israel Synagogue

    Congregation established 1893. Destroyed by fire 1926, rebuilt August 1927. Charles Back came from Lithuania in 1902, set up as a butcher in Paarl, bought Klein Babylonstoren in 1916 and became at one time the largest Jewish wine producer in the country. Today Paarl is combined with the Wellington Community Old Cemetery (1894-1938): East end of Hospital Street, next to Hoerskool van der Walt New Cemetery (from1925): cnr Jan van Riebeeck & Langenhoven Streets

  • Agudat Achim Synagogue

    Established 1899, Agudat Achim Synagogue built 1923. First wedding 1902 between Moses Zuckerman and Rebecca Glaser who taught German at the Rhenish Institute. Their son was knighted as Sir Solly Zuckerman. Hall and classrooms converted to restaurant and retail outlets. Cemetery: cnr Adam Tas & Distillery Roads (next to the Oude Libertas Amphitheatre)

  • Somerset West Synagogue

    Regular services: The Strand congregation has merged with Somerset West Old Synagogue: Wesley Street, Strand Cemetery: cnr Beach and Gordon’s Bay Road, Strand

  • Fairview

    Fairview invites you to a kosher goats milk cheese tasting.  With vineyards in the leading grape-producing areas of the country, Fairview produces distinctive wines across a variety of styles and terroirs, showcasing third generation vintner Charles Back’s inventive use of both classic and unusual varieties.

  • Zandwijk Wine Farm

    Dating back to the seventeenth century, Zandwijk has been diligently restored to recapture its 300 year old history. Nestled on the south eastern slope of Paarl mountain, the vineyard enjoys a superior terroir, which contributes towards captivating the delicacy and complexity of both red and white grape cultivars alike. Once certified by the Cape Beth Din and Orthodox Union of America all Kleine Draken wines and juices are Kosher and Kosher for Passover.