• Parliament

    Traditionally the Mother City has always been home to Parliament with Pretoria the administrative capital, but there is ongoing debate about the economic viability of this arrangement. Currently Parliament is made up of approximately 42% women. The present city mayor is a female Mayor: Patricia de Lille and the Western Cape province has a female premier: DA leader Helen Zille. Every year a Woman’s Parliament is held in August, Women’s Month. August 9th is Women’s Day honouring the day of the women’s march back in 1956 when over 2000 women marched to the Union Buildings to protest against the Pass Laws.